Type Without Thinking (Much) with Freedom Fry’s Bruce Driscoll

Jon Chattman
5 min readJun 23, 2020

--

Type Without Thinking (Much) is a new email interview series I’m working on where my subjects let their mind wander and don’t give my questions much thought. The order of the questions are intentionally random. Given the strange times we’re living in, I’m hopeful this gives you a bit of a break from the news.

Bruce Driscoll and wife Marie Seyrat of Freedom Fry | Photo: Mike Spencer and Nicole Spencer

Bruce Driscoll is a music master. He’s been practically playing since he’s been in diapers, formed bands with his sisters — most recently Blondfire with his sister Erica (more on that later), and continues to keep it in the family with Freedom Fry, an alt-pop duo he performs in with his wife Marie Seyrat. I know the musician, writer, producer for probably a decade — he even wrote and performed my series’ A-Sides theme song (see below), but oddly enough we’ve never met in person so this seems like an appropriate piece to do with him. Take it away Bruce.

First off, as is the case with this new series, please start this off by shamelessly plugging everything you’ve got going on…
It’s a strange time to plug personal things, so first and foremost I’ll plug my sincere belief that this very tough year is going to bring about a lot of positive change in this country. We’re all taking big, necessary steps towards things everyone should want = equality, universal health and happiness, and a non violent future for us and our children. We all have our parts to play.

In my music world, Freedom Fry just released a new album called, Songs from the West Coast. It’s meant to be a soft, sunny, gentle kind of mood and we hope it offers a few moments of bliss and calm to whoever needs it during this intense year.

Has this quarantine and strange time we’re living in/with provided any time to write/create new music and, if so, how does it compare with your previous work?
I tend to work at lightning speed in the studio usually. Sometimes tracking a full song in an afternoon — not even stopping to pee. It’s kinda like my bodily functions stop. The pandemic has made me work at probably more of a normal, healthy pace. Once the lockdown hit we didn’t have daycare for our year-old-son River so I’m mostly working during his sleep time. I’m actually enjoying having to take more time on them. I feel like the new songs will probably sound more refined. Who knows? We’ve got a lot of songs in the works though.

What has your soundtrack been during this time?
Lately, I’ve been listening to Otis Blackwell. In case you’re not familiar, he wrote some of the greatest songs of all time — “Don’t Be Cruel,” “Great Balls of Fire,” “Fever,” “All Shook Up.” He was signed as a writer for Elvis and he would demo out the songs and Elvis would mimic his vocal delivery. If you get a chance watch the clip on Youtube of Otis on Lettermen. I really love Otis’ voice and melodies. Even beyond the known hits. A very talented man.

I’ve also been trying to play my son every genre of music possible to make sure he can appreciate and hear the beauty of it all.

You’re in Paris right now, if you could pick one song that defines your city what would it be and why?
Belles! Belles! Belles!” by Claude François. I challenge you to find a happier song in the universe. It’s a pop song in the classic, yé-yé style. He’s singing about beautiful girls and it just puts you in same the mood that a Summer’s day walking along the Seine does. Every block of Paris is so beautiful, so for me this is the song.

Claude also wrote “Comme d’habitude,” the song Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” is based on.

If your life were a TV show what would it be called, who would star in it, and would it be a sitcom or drama?
It would be called, “Co-Write.” I would want to be played by the legend, Keanu Reeves. It would be based on the time I hallucinated and met the spirit people who give me song ideas. Except in the show these spirits would constantly follow me around and we’d become friends and they’d help me write songs for different artists and to save the day in different scenarios. A new song each episode. Somewhat of a supernatural sitcom.

What would your autobiography’s final chapter be called?
Buried With A Guitar In My Hands”

You make music with your wife, and have made music with your sister. Do you see yourself making music with your son and why didn’t you make music with your grandmother?
If you know me very well, chances are we’ve written a song or two together. Believe it or not, I am already making music with my son, or at least attempting to. When he comes into our home studio we sit at the drums and he hits all the cymbals and the toms. He holds the sticks really well for a one year old. He’s got a little guitar and piano that my sister gave him.

My grandmother had an amazing church organ in her house with Hank Williams sheet music nearby. Every Sunday when I was a kid, I’d turn that thing on and play it. It had all these great drum beat sounds and a disco preset. If my grandma had been up for it we most definitely would have had a band.

What movie character do you most relate to?
Bob in What About Bob? Sometimes baby steps get me through my life.

What does freedom mean to you?
Freedom to love who you love. Freedom to be your true self without fear of persecution. Freedom to be happy and to do what you love.

What does Freedom Williams mean to you?
“Everybody dance now!” Will always be a good song. Hats off to Mr. Williams.

You wrote the A-Sides theme song for me with your lovely sister as Blondfire. Do you see me ever needing a theme song again and if so, what would it be for?
Yes, indeed! You might also need a theme song to begin your day. Like an alarm clock song. Maybe also a song for when you want to get pumped up. Everybody needs a tailor-made soundtrack. Let me know. I am always up for writing songs about anything.

If you were a wrestler what would your name be and what would your entrance music be?
Probably something like, “Hot-Blooded Bruce” since I’m such a mellow guy. This would give me the element of surprise when I came out and smiled my opponent to death. My entrance music would be “Sing A Happy Song” by The O’Jays. People would never expect that. The wrestling mat would become a dance floor.

--

--

Jon Chattman

He once enjoyed a Reuben sandwich with Randy “Macho Man” Savage, has written eight books, hosts his own music series, and is a proud dad. He can’t ride a bike.